1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to VapeHaven!
    If you like it here you can always register and become a part of the community :-)
  3. Good day Guest. The current Admin/Mod team are not getting to participate actively on the forum as we would want to, and the community deserves more than that. If you are an energetic, passionate vaper who can drive quality content(!!!), keep some order (not that we enforce any rules really :)) and would like to become part of the VH Team, please send me a PM. Papa OUT!

Smok Cube II

Discussion in 'Temperature Control' started by Mark, Nov 4, 2015.

  1. Mark

    Mark Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    732
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +566 / 96 / -0
    @PapaSmurf Samsung 25R's.. got them about 3 weeks ago. Currently showing about 3-quarter empty on the mod's screen.
     
  2. PapaSmurf

    PapaSmurf Bringer of Calm ... Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,609
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Centurion
    Ratings:
    +1,391 / 251 / -3
    I might be wrong, but your batteries might be the issue. I posted about marrying batteries for the Cube when I got mine. Lemme find the thread
     
  3. PapaSmurf

    PapaSmurf Bringer of Calm ... Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,609
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Centurion
    Ratings:
    +1,391 / 251 / -3
  4. Mark

    Mark Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    732
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +566 / 96 / -0
    They are 'married' in the sense that they've always been used together and charged together... Been using them for 3 weeks or so in my iStick.
     
  5. Mark

    Mark Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    732
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +566 / 96 / -0
    Thanks @PapaSmurf . Ya, then they are as married as can be...
     
  6. nemo

    nemo Agg sommer maar net

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germiston
    Ratings:
    +356 / 44 / -0
    @Mark not saying this is the problem but out of interest what version firmware is it running
     
  7. Mark

    Mark Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    732
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +566 / 96 / -0
    It's out the box, so whatever it shipped with. Will plug it in tomorrow and get the app installed to get it updated... U think that's a factor?
     
  8. nemo

    nemo Agg sommer maar net

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germiston
    Ratings:
    +356 / 44 / -0
    ok no need for the app on the phone its updated via the pc Let me find the link for you quick, Stock my vape was all over the show granted that was on the tc but who knows

    edit -- Sorry I read phone app to update
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2015
  9. nemo

    nemo Agg sommer maar net

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germiston
    Ratings:
    +356 / 44 / -0
    ok turn it off then back on it should tell you what version mine was stock 1.06 the latest is 1.093
    check this post it has the details where to get the firmware and how to update
     
  10. nemo

    nemo Agg sommer maar net

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germiston
    Ratings:
    +356 / 44 / -0
    for the others there is a new firmware version 1.093
    GREAT NEWS!!!
    The X CUBE II will support the max wattage value 180W now, once you do upgrade the firmware to v1.093.

    And i see the little issue i had about getting the version on the last is noted on the site now also
    NOTICE
    1. You have to hold the fire bar all the time during the upgrading

    2. After do upgrade, once you click the "disconnect" button, The device screen will show error like "Error: NO SECRET-KEYS". This is a flash protection, please don't worry, it doesn't matter with your normal use. Just put batteries in and power on your device. Enjoy!
     
  11. Mark

    Mark Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    732
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +566 / 96 / -0
    Awesome tx Nemo. Will try that tomorrow when I get into office...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. nemo

    nemo Agg sommer maar net

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germiston
    Ratings:
    +356 / 44 / -0
    Hope it works quick summary (full directions found here)
    Download the upgrade tool
    once you open the program hit the "check new version" button
    to the left of the button when the download is done you should see "latest firmware :V1.093"
    NB* Power down the mod and remove the batteries
    plug in your usb
    press and hold the fire bar
    keep the fire depressed and hit connect
    now the "do upgrade" button should be available and not grayed out.
    still holding the fire bar hit "do upgrade" button
    when done hit disconnect and now leave the fire bar
    you will more than likely get the no secret key error but all is good its normal as they say
    insert batteries and we will do a little dance to the vape gods that all is well.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. Mark

    Mark Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    732
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +566 / 96 / -0
    Balls.. I work on a Mac and they don't support Mac... They make a iOS app, but they dont make a mac app for firmware updates...

    Will do it later on my gaming PC...
     
  14. fractious

    fractious Admin

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,699
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Centurion, GA
    Ratings:
    +1,582 / 401 / -0
    As the others have directed you, get the firmware up to date first - it's always a good idea with these types of devices.

    On the tri-coil....it holds around 1-2ml of juice when fully saturated - you have to prime the crap out of it :)
    I've not heard of it happening yet, but perhaps you got a dud coil - or you may have burned the cotton on first use if it wasn't primed correctly (this I've seen happen).

    On the RBA...I did a review and quick wicking tutorial on the TFV4 a while back and that method has served me very well (no leaking unless I leave the tank for a few days with juice in, but that's true for most tanks of this nature).
     
  15. Mark

    Mark Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    732
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +566 / 96 / -0
    Thanks @fractious. Will do those updates next week as I'm away this weekend for anniversary holiday.

    I did prime it hella well... dripped a load into the coils until I saw it filling up those openings on the side of the coil... In fact first few pulls were gargling a bit... did that blow-trick you told me about.. So not sure it was a not-primed-enough issue...

    Will watch that video, thank you. First thing I did was wick and use that RBA and the initial flavor was intense.. loved it.. until I picked it up later and realised it was running down the side of my mod :/

    Hopefully 3rd attempt will work better :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. fractious

    fractious Admin

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,699
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Centurion, GA
    Ratings:
    +1,582 / 401 / -0
    Ah okay, then a well primed coil with no/bad flavour must be a dud - I'm quite surprised since I got overpowering flavour off it, so there has to be something wrong with the coil.

    Unless it's the mod...maybe try using it on the iStick instead.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  17. Zenooph

    Zenooph I know some stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Ratings:
    +168 / 33 / -0
    I tried it with the X cube firmware tool and it didn't work. Used the ISP tool and it worked the first time.
     
  18. Mark

    Mark Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    732
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +566 / 96 / -0
  19. Zenooph

    Zenooph I know some stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Ratings:
    +168 / 33 / -0
     
  20. PapaSmurf

    PapaSmurf Bringer of Calm ... Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,609
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Centurion
    Ratings:
    +1,391 / 251 / -3

Share This Page